The capital of the Lassithi prefecture since 1904, Agios Nikolaos is a picturesque town in the eastern region of Crete. Built on the northwest side of the peaceful Mirabello Bay, it was named after the charming Byzantine chapel of St. Nicholas that was erected on the spot called "Nissi" during the 7th century AD. The chapel has a number of well-preserved frescoes from the 9th, 10th and 11th centuries and rewards its visitors with a breathtaking view of the town and bay.
Agios Nikolaos is the patron saint of sailors and of all of Greece. “Agio”, as the town is referred to by all the islanders, retains the ambience of a quaint, traditional fishing town. Its tranquil lifestyle hasn't been lost despite its busy tourist infrastructure. The harbor and lagoon are the main attraction, surrounded by the picturesque tile-roofed houses it is a charming place to take a leisurely stroll. The town is illuminated in the evenings by the lights of the shops and the "kaiki" (fishing) boats moored at the commercial dock, the starting point for day cruises to Spinalonga, Elounda and around Mirabello Bay.
Agios Nikolaos is accessible from the mainland and the whole of Europe via the Nikos Kazantzakis airport in Heraklio and many daily ferry services in Heraklion Port. Two ships directly connect Agios Nikolaos daily with the ports of Piraeus, Milos, Santorini, Siteia Karpathos, Kassos, Kos, and Rhodes.